A week in paradise

 

This past week, I spent my days sitting on a beach on Marathon, Florida.

Sombrero.png

Sombrero Beach

If you have never been to the Florida Keys, you should go.  Be sure to visit Sombrero Beach on Marathon.  You’ll need some sunscreen and a good book(s).

I took four books with me this time including three  Remo Williams (Murphy/Sapir) novels on my kindle, and a softcover book about Arduino by Jeremy Blum.  The Remo books feed my soul (as only action-adventure-karate books can).

Blum’s book was excellent, and now has me now rethinking my next few blog posts.  I am experimenting with some ideas… I need to order some ICs… I’ll keep you posted.

For now, keep testing first.  In your spare time check out what these Coast Guard sailors did in WWII and beyond:  http://www.uscgcingham.org/   I, for one, have a newfound respect for the coast guard.  You can visit the museum in Key West.

Oh…  and the butterfly conservatory is also a “must see.”

Author: Miles Porter

Miles Porter is a senior consulting software engineer in the Minneapolis, MN. He is interested in pragmatic software development practices, embedded software, and cloud computing. In his free time he likes to travel with his family, play upright and electric basses and study Taekwondo.

Leave a comment